The Nuclear Energy Agency

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is an intergovernmental agency that facilitates cooperation among countries with advanced nuclear technology infrastructures to seek excellence in nuclear safety, technology, science, environment, and law. The NEA, which is under the framework of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, is headquartered in Paris, France.

The NEA's Mission Statement, as reflected in its Strategic Plan, is:

"To assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes. To provide authoritative assessments and to forge common understandings on key issues as input to government decisions on nuclear energy policy and to broader OECD policy analyses in areas such as energy and sustainable development."

The Strategic Plan of the Nuclear Energy Agency: 2011-2016

In order to achieve this, the NEA works as a forum for sharing information and experience and promoting international co-operation; a centre of excellence which helps member countries to pool and maintain their technical expertise and a vehicle for facilitating policy analyses and developing consensus based on its technical work.

The NEA's current membership consists of 31 countries in Europe, North America and the Asia-Pacific region:

Australian flag Australia French flag France Japanese flag Japan Portugese flag Portugal Turkish flag Turkey
Austrian flag Austria German flag Germany Korean flag Korea Russian flag Russia UK Flag United Kingdom
Belgian flag Belgium Greek flag Greece Luxembourg flag Luxembourg Slovak Republic flag Slovak Republic USA flag United States
Canadian flag Canada Hungarian flag Hungary Mexican flag Mexico Slovenia
Czech flag Czech Republic Iceland flag Iceland Dutch flag Netherlands Spanish flag Spain
Danish flag Denmark Irish flag Ireland Norwegian flag Norway Swedish flag Sweden
Finnish flag Finland Italian flag Italy Polish flag Poland Swiss flag Switzerland    

Together they account for approximately 86% of the world's installed nuclear capacity. Nuclear power accounts for about one-fifth of the electricity produced in NEA member countries. The NEA works closely with the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna – a specialised agency of the United Nations – and with the European Commission in Brussels. Within the OECD, there is close co-ordination with the International Energy Agency and the Environment Directorate, as well as contacts with other directorates, as appropriate.

NEA areas of work

Nuclear safety and regulation

Nuclear energy development

Radioactive waste management

Radiological protection and public health

Nuclear law and liability

Nuclear science

The Data Bank

Information and communication

NEA strengths

The NEA is the only intergovernmental agency which brings together a selection of countries from North America, Europe and the Asia-Pacific region in a non-political forum dedicated to sharing and disseminating state of the art knowledge in the field of nuclear energy.

NEA committee structure

The NEA maintains seven specialised standing technical committees representing the major areas of the Agency's programme, each of which oversees various specialised working groups and task groups. These groups are comprised of member country experts who are both contributors to the programme of work and beneficiaries of its results. The approach is highly cost-efficient as it enables the Agency to pursue an ambitious programme with a relatively small staff that co-ordinates the work. The substantive value of the standing technical committees arises from the numerous important functions they perform, including:

Organigram of the NEA

Committee structure

Management structure

NEA-serviced bodies

The NEA also provides technical secretariat services for the following initiatives:

Generation IV International Forum (GIF)

International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation (IFNEC)

Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP)

Related links

The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency

History of the NEA

NEA 50th anniversary

NEA Annual Report

NEA Strategic Plan: 2011-2016

NEA Statute

Last reviewed: 25 January 2016