NEA Mandates and Structures


Chair(s): Hiroyuki UMEKI, Japan
Secretaries:  Nobuhiro MUROYA
Vice-Chair(s): Jussi HEINONEN, Finland
Daniel DELORT, France
Alice Mariana DIMA, Romania
Sergey DERYABIN, Russia
James MCKINNEY, United Kingdom
Christopher REGAN, United States
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:23 June 1975
End of mandate:31 December 2022

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/NE(2017)14


The NEA conducts important international activities to support the development of a global strategy for considering aspects of sustainability concerning the use of nuclear power and nuclear materials. According to the NEA Strategic Plan for 2017-2022, the Agency’s general objective in the field of radioactive waste management and decommissioning is to assist member countries in the development of safe, sustainable and broadly acceptable strategies for the management of all types of radioactive waste and spent nuclear fuel. In this context, the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC) shall:

For developing its programme of work, and in its modus operandi, the RWMC will follow the holistic approach and rely on discipline-oriented working parties and expert groups in the areas of radioactive waste management and associated societal issues through activities such as the Forum on Stakeholder Confidence (FSC). RWMC members delegated from regulatory authorities will also meet in the Regulators’ Forum (RF) to provide regulatory expertise and support the RWMC work through the information exchange and activities on issues of regulating of radioactive waste management (e.g. including decommissioning activities in coordination with the Committee on Decommissioning of Nuclear Installations and Legacy Management).

In the fulfilment of its responsibilities, the RWMC will be supported by the staff of the NEA Division of Radioactive Waste Management and for activities associated with the Forum on Stakeholder Confidence and related areas by the staff of the NEA Division of Radiological Protection and Human Aspects of Nuclear Safety.

The Radioactive Waste Management Committee will co-operate with other NEA standing technical committees, in particular, the Committee on Decommissioning of Nuclear Installations and Legacy Management to ensure efficient collaboration, coordination and exchange of activity updates in the area of radioactive waste management and decommissioning. The coordination between these two committees with closely linked activities will be provided through the organising of joint sessions at the annual meetings and joint bureau meetings of the both committees and other approaches. The RWMC will also interact as appropriate with other NEA programs, international scientific bodies, industry and stakeholder organisations and other international agencies.