NEA Mandates and Structures

Working Party on Nuclear Criticality Safety (WPNCS)

Chair(s): Kotaro TONOIKE, Japan
Secretary:  Julie-Fiona MARTIN
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:30 June 1996
End of mandate:30 June 2020

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPNCS(2017)1]


Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC), the Working Party will deal with technical and scientific issues relevant to criticality safety. Specific areas of interest include, but are not limited to, investigations concerning static and transient configurations encountered in the nuclear fuel cycle, such as fuel fabrication, transport, separation processing and storage. Areas of activities include:


The objectives of the WPNCS are to:


The deliverables of the WPNCS for the period 2017-2020 are the following:

1. Evaluations of Integral Experiments, Databases and tools

2. Benchmark Reports (Provisional Titles)

Meeting Frequency

 The WPNCS shall meet on average once a year.