The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency at Fifty

The OECD Nuclear Energy Agency has worked for the the last fifty years to assist its member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for the safe, environmentally sound and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

An international array of some 250 dignitaries and government experts in the field of nuclear energy gathered in Paris on 16 October 2008 to mark the 50th anniversary of the creation of the NEA and to discuss the future use of nuclear power for peaceful purposes.

High-level session


Thursday, 16 October 2008
2:30 p.m.- 6:00 p.m.

Chair: Mr. Angel Gurría, OECD Secretary-General

Co-chair: Mr. Richard J.K. Stratford, Chair of the NEA Steering Committee for Nuclear Energy

Opening ceremony

Mr. Angel Gurría, Secretary-General, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (speech)

Keynote addresses

Dr. Mohamed ElBaradei, Director-General, International Atomic Energy Agency (speech)
Mr. Luis E. Echávarri, Director-General, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency (presentation)

Ministerial session
Ministerial statements on the future of nuclear energy

Spain: Mr Miguel Sebastián Gascón, Minister for Industry, Tourism and Trade (statement)
Italy: Mr Claudio Scajola, Minister for Economic Development (statement)
Slovak Republic: Mr Ľubomír Jahnátek, Minister of Economy (statement)
France: Mr Pierre-Franck Chevet, Director-General for Energy and Climate, Ministry for Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and Town and Country Planning (Regional Development) (statement)
United States: Mr. Dennis R. Spurgeon, Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy
Japan: Dr Shunichi Tanaka, Vice-Chair, Atomic Energy Commission (statement)
Czech Republic: Mr Tomáš Hüner, Vice-Minister for Industry and Trade (statement)

Round table

The challenges for new nuclear build

Chair: Dr. Dale E. Klein, Chair, US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (introduction and dinner presentation)
Dr Aris S. Candris, President and CEO, Westinghouse Electric Company
Mr André-Claude Lacoste, Chair, French Nuclear Safety Authority
Mr Hugh MacDiarmid, President and CEO, Atomic Energy Canada Limited (remarks)
Mr Luc Oursel, President and CEO, AREVA NP

Special speakers

Mr Pierre Gadonneix, Chair and Chief Executive Officer, Électricité de France (EDF); Chair, World Energy Council (WEC)

Mr Nobuo Tanaka, Executive Director, International Energy Agency (speech and slides)

Conclusions and closing remarks

Mr Richard J.K. Stratford, Chair of the NEA Steering Committee for Nuclear Energy

The high-level session took place in Room CC1 of the OECD Conference Centre, 2 rue André Pascal, 75016 Paris and was followed by a reception hosted by the NEA Director-General.

Last reviewed: 29 October 2010

/* */