NEST Secretariat

The NEST Secretariat monitors the progress of the different NEST Projects, supports the Management Board in the monitoring and evaluation process and provides the interface between the NEST Projects and the Management Board.

The NEA staff comprising the NEST Secretariat are: 


mceclip2 - 2020-03-20 16h33m59s

Dr Antonella di Trapani

Antonella di Trapani is leading nuclear education activities at the NEA. Before joining the NEA in July 2018, she was Team Leader for Science Policy Advice within the European Commission’s Scientific Advice Mechanism. Prior to that, she has held several positions as Programme Manager and Head of International Cooperation at the G20 Wheat Initiative, European Commission, European Research Council and European Science Foundation, managing large-scale collaborative projects, capacity building networks and the largest grants in Europe. In addition, she also worked for the private sector as Research Scientist at Johnson Matthey Technology Centre. 
She was awarded two EC Marie Curie Fellowships to carry out her PhD and PostDoc, and she was Chair of the Marie Curie Fellows Association, the largest Fellows’ network in Europe. She also founded and chaired the Women in Science Working Group. She is also co-founder and former Vice-Chair of the Gender in Science for Mobile Scientists of the Marie Curie Alumni Association.

She is an Italian national and holds an MSc in Chemistry from the University of Palermo (Italy) during which she was awarded an  Erasmus Fellowship at University College London (UK), a PhD in Chemistry and a PostGraduate Diploma in Quality Improvement from Trinity College Dublin (Ireland), an MSc in Science Communication and Journalism from University of Ferrara (Italy), and a PostGraduate Diploma in International Development from London School of Economics and Social Sciences (UK).

Picture Markus Beilmann

Dr Markus Beilmann, responsible for the HYMERES project and Research Reactors project

Markus Beilmann has been working since May 2017 in the NEA's Division of Nuclear Safety Technology and Regulation as an administrator to support joint projects. He is responsible for projects addressing different areas of safety research and supports the members during the entire lifespan of each project. In this context, he supports the HYMERES-2 project that co-operates very closely with the NEST initiative. He studied radiochemistry and conducted his doctorate studies at JRC-Karlsruhe in Germany. Before joining the NEA, he worked as a technical expert on reactor safety research at the project management agency of the Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH in Germany where he supported domestic and international reactor safety research projects.

mceclip0 - 2020-04-06 10h13m17s

Dr Martin Brandauer, responsible for Advanced Robotics for Decommissioning project and BEAST project

Martin Brandauer joined the NEA Division of Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissioning (RWMD) in August 2019 as a decommissioning expert. He is currently responsible for the Committee on Decommissioning of Nuclear Installations and Legacy Management (CDLM) and associated bodies. He is also closely working with the Expert Group on the Application of Robotics and Remote Systems in the Nuclear Back-end (EGRRS) of the Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC). He has a diploma in mechanical engineering from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and did his doctoral thesis on radioactive waste separation during decommissioning at the University of Stuttgart. Before joining the NEA, he worked at KIT as a programme manager within the “Nuclear Waste Management, Safety and Radiation Research (NUSAFE)” Programme of the German Helmholtz Association (HGF) as well as a nuclear decommissioning expert dealing with many R&D projects and E&T programmes in the field.

mceclip0 - 2020-04-07 10h32m03s

Dr Jacqueline Garnier Laplace, responsible for the MANTRAS project

Jacqueline Garnier-Laplace joined the NEA Division of Radiological Protection and Human Aspects of Nuclear Safety in May 2019. She serves as the Scientific Secretary for the Working Party on Nuclear Emergency Matters (WPNEM) and for a number of expert groups under the Committee on Radiological Protection and Public Health (CRPPH).

Previously, she was the Deputy Director in charge of Research for Radiological Protection at the “Pole Santé-Environnement” of the French Institute for Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety (IRSN). During her 28-year career in the field of radiological protection, she has held various managerial positions e.g., Deputy Director of the Environment (2015-2017), Head of Division on Research and Expertise on Environmental Risks (2007-20015).

She is a member of the International Commission on Radiological Protection (ICRP) and is acting as the scientific secretary of Committee 1 on “Effects of ionising radiation” for the present term 2017-2021. She has co-authored nearly 100 peer-reviewed papers mainly dealing with various radiological protection scientific issues.

Lebedev 2

Mr Vladimir Lebedev, Deputy Head of the NEA Division on Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissioning and responsible for the RWM i-graphite project.

Vladimir Lebedev is the Deputy Head of the NEA Division on Radioactive Waste Management and Decommissioning. It is his second time working at the NEA, having started in October 2020. The previous period was from 2013 to the end of 2019 in the same division as an administrator on Radioactive Waste Management.  Prior to joining the NEA, he was an Administrator on Radioactive Waste Management at the State Corporation on Nuclear Energy ROSATOM, Russian Federation from 2010-2013. From 1993 to 2010 Vladimir worked at the R&D enterprise Moscow RADON at the Department of Waste Vitrification, where he rose to become Head of the Department of Waste Vitrification.

Vladimir holds a master’s degree in radiochemical processes of nuclear energy from the St. Petersbourg University of Technology, Russia, and is the author of a number of publications on radioactive waste management.


mceclip0 - 2020-04-06 16h17m46s

Ms Lorella Pecorale, administrative assistant

Lorella Pecorale is responsible for administrative/technical support for the Nuclear Education, Skills and Technology (NEST) Project. She joined the OECD in 2008 and worked for the Development Co-operation Directorate (DCD) and the Legal Directorate before coming to the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) in 2010. Before joining the OECD, Lorella worked as an administrative assistant in the French office of the Italian Central Bank in Paris. Before arriving in France, she worked as a French and English teacher at a high school in Italy. She has a Master's degree in Foreign Languages and Literatures from the Università degli Studi Gabriele D’Annunzio in Italy.


To contact the NEST Secretariat, please email: