Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency (Convention on Assistance)

The Convention on Assistance sets up a framework for states parties to co-operate amongst themselves and with the International Atomic Energy Agency to facilitate prompt assistance in the event of a nuclear accident or radiological emergency.

  • Adopted: 26 September 1986
  • Opened for signature: 26 September 1986 (Vienna) and 6 October 1986 (New York)
  • Entered into force: 26 February 1987
  • Parties: 127 (including EURATOM, FAO, WHO and WMO) (see table below)

More information on the Convention on Assistance, including the text and current status, is available here.

The following articles related to the Convention on Assistance were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin:

  • The IAEA Conventions on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident and on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency, by B. Moser (NLB 44, p. 10).
  • Inside nuclear baseball: Reflections on the development of the safety conventions, by C. Stoiber (NLB 100, p. 61).
  • The impact of the major nuclear power plant accidents on the international legal framework for nuclear power, by S.G. Burns (NLB 101, p. 7), updated in Principles and Practice of International Nuclear Law, p. 83.


Parties to the Convention on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency

Albania Eritrea Madagascar Romania*
Algeria Estonia Madagascar Russia*
Argentina* Finland* Malawi Rwanda
Armenia* France* Malaysia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Australia Gabon Mali Saudi Arabia
Austria Georgia Mauritania Senegal
Bangladesh Germany Mauritius Serbia
Belarus* Ghana Mexico* Singapore
Belgium* Greece Moldova Slovak Republic*
Benin Guatemala Monaco Slovenia*
Bolivia Hungary* Mongolia South Africa*

Bosnia and  Herzegovina

Iceland Montenegro Spain*
Botswana India* Morocco Sri Lanka
Brazil* Indonesia Mozambique Sweden*
Bulgaria* Iran* Myanmar Switzerland*
Burkina Faso Iraq Namibia Syrian Arab Republic
Cambodia Ireland Netherlands* Tajikistan
Cameroon Israel New Zealand Tanzania
Canada* Italy Nicaragua Thailand
Chile Japan* Niger Tunisia
China* Jordan Nigeria Türkiye
Colombia Kazakhstan North Macedonia Ukraine*
Costa Rica Korea* Norway United Arab Emirates*
Côte d'Ivoire Kuwait Oman United Kingdom*
Croatia Lao People’s Democratic Republic Pakistan* United States*
Cuba Latvia Panama Uruguay
Cyprus Lebanon Paraguay Viet Nam
Czech Republic* Lesotho Peru Zimbabwe
Denmark Libya Philippines EURATOM
Ecuador Liechtenstein Poland Food and Agriculture Organisation
Egypt Lithuania Portugal

World Health Organisation

El Salvador Luxembourg Qatar World Meteorological Organisation

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.