Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident (Early Notification Convention)

The Early Notification Convention establishes a notification system for nuclear accidents that have the potential for an international transboundary release of radioactive material that could be of radiological safety significance for another state.

  • Adopted: 26 September 1986
  • Opened for signature: 26 September 1986 (Vienna) and 6 October 1986 (New York)
  • Entered into force: 27 October 1986
  • Parties: 133 (including EURATOM, FAO, WHO and WMO) (see table below)

More information on the Early Notification Convention, including the text and current status, is available here.

The following articles related to the Early Notification Convention were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin and Principles and Practice of International Nuclear Law:

  • The IAEA Conventions on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident and on Assistance in the Case of a Nuclear Accident or Radiological Emergency, by B. Moser (NLB 44, p. 10). 
  • Inside nuclear baseball: Reflections on the development of the safety conventions, by C. Stoiber (NLB 100, p. 61).
  • The impact of the major nuclear power plant accidents on the international legal framework for nuclear power, by S.G. Burns (NLB 101, p. 7), updated in Principles and Practice of International Nuclear Law, p. 83.
  • Responding to the call: Assessing international legal frameworks for response to incidents involving floating nuclear power plants, by J. Karcz (NLB 110, p. 37).


Parties to the Convention on Early Notification of a Nuclear Accident

Albania Egypt Madagascar Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Algeria El Salvador Malawi Saudi Arabia
Angola Eritrea Malaysia Senegal
Argentina* Estonia Mali Serbia
Armenia* Finland* Mauritania Singapore
Australia France* Mauritius Slovak Republic*
Austria Gabon Mexico* Slovenia*
Bahrain Georgia Moldova South Africa*
Bangladesh Germany Monaco Spain*
Belarus* Ghana Mongolia Sri Lanka
Belgium* Greece Montenegro Sweden*
Benin Guatemala Morocco Switzerland*
Bolivia Hungary* Mozambique Syrian Arab Republic
Bosnia and Herzegovina Iceland Myanmar Tajikistan
Botswana India* Namibia Tanzania
Brazil* Indonesia Netherlands* Thailand
Bulgaria* Iran* New Zealand Tunisia
Burkina Faso Iraq Nicaragua Türkiye
Cambodia Ireland Niger Turkmenistan
Cameroon Israel Nigeria Ukraine*
Canada* Italy North Macedonia United Arab Emirates*
Chile Japan* Norway United Kingdom*
China* Jordan Oman United States*
Colombia Kazakhstan Pakistan* Uruguay
Congo Korea* Panama Venezuela
Costa Rica Kuwait Paraguay Viet Nam
Côte d'Ivoire Lao People's Democratic Republic Peru Zimbabwe
Croatia Latvia Philippines EURATOM
Cuba Lebanon Poland Food and Agriculture Organization
Cyprus Lesotho Portugal World Health Organization
Czechia* Libya Qatar World Meteorological Organization
Denmark Liechtenstein Romania*  
Dominican Republic Lithuania Russia*  
Ecuador Luxembourg Rwanda  

* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.