Workshop for Radiation Transport Simulation Developers (RTS 2024)

The NEA Expert Group on the Physics of Reactor Systems (EGPRS) will organise a one-day workshop to foster exchanges among radiation transport simulation developers. The workshop will aim to facilitate exchanges among different code developer teams encompassing both scientific and commercial developers engaged in various radiation transport (RT) applications.

The ultimate goal is to establish a vibrant community of practice, fostering periodic interactions among development teams. This workshop is co-organised with SATIF-16 and hosted by INFN Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati, Italy, before SATIF-16 on 27 May 2024. 


The workshop will feature four panel discussions introduced by keynote speeches given by international experts. Thereafter, the participants will discuss future trends, opportunities, blocking points, and co-operation options.


8:30 - 8:50 CEST: Opening remarks

  • Dr. Alessandro GALLO, Head of the Accelerator Division, Istituto Nazionale di Fisica Nucleare, Laboratori Nazionali di Frascati (INFN/LNF), Italy
  • Dr Robert GROVE, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States & Chair of the NEA Expert Group on the Physics of Reactor Systems (EGPRS) 
  • Dr Oliver BUSS, OECD Nuclear Energy Agency


8:50 - 10:35 CEST: Session I - GPU techniques in RT algorithms 

Chair: Dr Robert GROVE, Section Head Nuclear Modeling and Simulation Development and Deployment, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States & Chair of the NEA Expert Group on the Physics of Reactor Systems (EGPRS)

Keynote speakers:

  • Dr Steven HAMILTON, Nuclear Energy and Fuel Cycle Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States
  • Prof Christoper PAIN, Head of the Applied Computation and Modelling Group (AMCG) & Professor at the Department of Earth Science and Engineering, Imperial College London, United Kingdom
  • Dr Michael BUSSMANN, Founding Manager Center for Advanced Systems Understanding (CASUS), Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany


11:05 - 12:50 CEST: Session II - Code management 

  • Developing and restructuring codes
  • Implementing continuous integration/continuous testing
    • Pre- and post-processing aspects
    • Synergies by international test case databases (e.g. continuous testing based on SINBAD, ICSBEP, IRPhE)

Chair: Dr Rosaria VILLARI, Technical Unit for Nuclear Fusion, ENEA Frascati Research Center, Italy

Keynote speakers:


14:20 - 16:30 CEST: Session III - Geometry descriptions in RT applications 

  • Challenges and state-of-the art in CAD modelling
  • Availability of geometry converters
  • Time dependent modelling

Chair: Steven LILLEY, Neutronics group leader, Science and Technology Facilities Council, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom

Keynote speakers:

17:00 - 18:15 CEST: Session IV - Extended reality for RT applications

Chair: Dr Anna Ferrari, Senior Physicist, Helmholtz-Zentrum Dresden-Rossendorf, Germany

Keynote speakers:

  • Dr Oskari Ville PAKARI, Research Fellow, University of Michigan, USA & École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland 


18:15 CEST:  Workshop wrap-up


The meeting will be co-located with the SATIF-16 workshop and hosted by INFN Laboratori Nazionali di Frascatit at Frascati, Italy.

Registered participants can find the meeting material and information on logistics on a dedicated NEA Meeting Page.


The event is open to participants from NEA member countries, the European Commission, and the International Atomic Energy Agency.