NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Geological Repositories in Crystalline Rock Formations – Crystalline Club (CRC)

Chair(s): Lukas VONDROVIC, Czech Republic
Secretary:  Tomohiro HIGASHIHARA
Vice-Chair(s): Judith FLÜGGE, Germany
Motoyuki YAMADA, Japan
Miguel Angel CUNADO PERALTA, Spain
Paul E. MARINER, United States
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 January 2017
End of mandate:31 December 2020

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/RWM/IGSC(2018)1



The CRC’s mission is to promote the exchange of scientific evidence/information for demonstrating the safety of developing geological disposal facilities in crystalline rock formations. To fulfil its objectives, the tasks carried by the CRC will include: