NEST Management Board

The main decision body of the NEST Framework is the Management Board which includes one member and one alternate from each NEST Country.

The main roles and responsibilities of the NEST Management Board are to:

  • adopt the NEST programme of work and the NEST budget;
  • select the NEST projects;
  • steer the NEST Framework.

Prof. Dr Andreas Pautz from PSI is the current Chair of the Management Board (2019-2020).


Management Board members

The current members of the Management Board for 2019-2020 are: 


NEST Country


Board Member

Alternate Member


Michèle Coeck




Daniel Brady

Natural Resources Canada/Ressources naturelles Canada


Natural Resources Canada/Ressources naturelles Canada


Valerie Vandenberghe


Didier Gay



Katharina Stummeyer

Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH)

Peter Ungelenk

Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH


Franca Padoani

Italian National Agency for new technologies, Energy and Sustainable economic development (ENEA)

Marco Ripani

National Institute of Nuclear Physics (INFN)


Takaumi KIMURA

Collaborative Laboratories for Advanced Decommissioning Science (CLADS)/Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)

Shinji KIHARA 

Collaborative Laboratories for Advanced Decommissioning Science (CLADS)/Japan Atomic Energy Agency (JAEA)


Junekyung Park

(Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)

Young-Joon Lee

Korea Atomic Energy Research Institute (KAERI)


 Valeriy KAREZIN

State Atomic Energy Corporation "Rosatom" (ROSATOM)

 Vladimir ARTISIUK

State Atomic Energy Corporation "Rosatom" (ROSATOM)


Andreas Pautz

Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI)

Domenico Paladino

Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI)


Diana Li

US Department of Energy (DOE)

Mary Gillespie

US Department of Energy (DOE)



mceclip0 - 2020-04-07 10h53m56s

NEST Management Board members and Countries' Delegates at the 1st NEST Management Board meeting, 26-27 March 2019. 


Bureau members


The Management Board is supported in its day-to-day decision by a Bureau composed by 4 Management Board members


Prof. Dr. Andreas Pautz, PSI, Chair
mceclip2 - 2020-03-23 18h20m42s Andreas Pautz is professor of nuclear engineering at EPFL, and head of the Nuclear Energy and Safety research division at the Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI). He received a M.Sc. degree in theoretical physics from the University of Manchester in 1995, and graduated in experimental physics/quantum optics at University of Hannover in 1997. In 2001, he obtained a PhD in nuclear engineering from Technical University of Munich, in a joint effort with GRS (Gesellschaft für Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit), the central German Federal expert organization for nuclear safety. After working for two years for the state regulator at TÜV Nord, where he was responsible for the reactor physics oversight and safety analysis of two 1300 MW Northern German nuclear power plants, he joined AREVA NP, Europe’s largest Nuclear Power Plant vendor in 2003. In 2004, he was promoted group leader for the development of AREVA’s next-generation reactor core simulator, a software suite designed for the entire fleet of AREVA’s reactors worldwide (more than 100 NPP). In 2007, he re-joined GRS as department head for reactor physics and core behavior, and was promoted director of GRS’ reactor safety research division in 2010. In 2012, he received a nomination as full professor at EPFL, and director of the two Laboratories for Reactor Physics and System Behavior (LRS) at both PSI and EPFL, and became head of PSI’s Nuclear Energy and Safety division in 2016. Andreas Pautz represents Switzerland in several high-level international nuclear safety panels at the OECD and the IAEA, and is a frequent advisor in matters of nuclear safety and education to numerous private and public organizations.
Dr. Katharina Strummeyer, GRS, Vice-Chair
mceclip0 - 2020-04-20 10h34m00s


Katharina Stummeyer is Head of the Project Management Agency at the Gesellschaft fuer Anlagen- und Reaktorsicherheit (GRS) gGmbH. This specialized division of GRS implements and coordinates nuclear safety research programs on behalf of several German Federal Ministries. The topics covered range from reactor safety research programs to research on waste management and on nuclear decommissioning.

Katharina has extensive experience in research management and a profound overview of the German nuclear safety research community. She is an active member of the German Alliance for Competence in Nuclear Technology and the current spokesperson of the German Network of Project Funding Agencies.

On the international level Katharina is a member of the Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations (CSNI) of NEA and has been active in several international research programs. Katharina graduated in 2000 from the Leibniz University in Hanover and holds a Doctoral degree in Natural Sciences (Dr. rer. nat).  She was active as researcher at the MH Hannover (X-Ray Crystallography and radiation protection) before she joined GRS in 2009.


Dr. Valery Karezin, ROSATOM
mceclip0 - 2020-04-17 13h33m29s

Valery Karezin is Director of Education Projects at Rosatom State Atomic Corporation and  Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Moscow State University
He is a Ph.D. Graduate of the Department of Chemistry and Department of Sociology of Moscow State University (Lomonosov MSU) and completed his PhD dissertation on the subject of Thermoluminescent Dosimetry.

He currently teaches radiochemistry and radioecology at the Department of Chemistry, Moscow State University

Before assuming his current position, Valery led the Education and International Affairs departments of Moscow State University.

In 2010, he joined the Rosatom State Corporation. As director of the Projects Office, he oversees ongoing projects in cooperation with Russian universities and universities of partner countries.

Valery authored a number of publications in international scientific journals.
He has been recognized with a multiple awards in the field of HR-technologies as well as for his contribution to development of nuclear industry.

Ms. Andrea Duskas, DoE


Andrea Duskas has been working in the Office of Nuclear Fuel Cycle and Supply Chain in the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Office of Nuclear Energy (NE) since September 2018. From 2014-2018, Andrea served as the Nuclear Energy Attaché at the U.S. Mission to the International Organizations in Vienna, Austria, coordinating U.S. engagement with the International Atomic Energy Agency’s Department of Nuclear Energy. Before serving in Vienna, she worked in DOE NE’s Office of International Nuclear Energy Policy and Cooperation, managing bilateral civil nuclear cooperation activities with a broad range of countries. Andrea joined NE in 2007, supporting the development of the International Framework for Nuclear Energy Cooperation (IFNEC). Prior working in NE, Andrea analyzed U.S. and global energy issues at International Technology and Trade Associates, Inc. She holds Master of Arts degrees in International Affairs and Economics from American University in Washington, DC.