NEA Mandates and Structures

Working Group on Safety Culture (WGSC)

Chair(s): Nobuhiko BAN, Japan
Secretary:  Kamishan MARTIN
Vice-Chair(s): Kaisa KOSKINEN, Finland
Anne EDLAND, Sweden
Cornelia RYSER, Switzerland
Patricia HOLAHAN, United States
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Participant(s): India
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:06 July 2017
End of mandate:31 December 2020

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/CNRA/R(2017)5



The scope of the WGSC is to foster discussion and exchanges, and consider various practical approaches to developing and sustaining a healthy safety culture within the wider interconnected system to ensure safety. The working group will further develop concepts from recent Green Booklets that focused on the characteristics and culture of an effective regulatory body, such as, but not limited to:


The main objective of the WGSC is to provide a senior level regulatory forum for exchanging information and experiences and planning work to ensure that the safety culture of the regulatory body and wider interconnected system has a positive impact on safety. In order to accomplish this, future activities shall:

Methods of Working