NEA Mandates and Structures

Working Group on the Characterisation, the Understanding and the Performance of Argillaceous Rocks as Repository Host Formations (CLAY CLUB)

Chair(s): Bastian GRAUPNER, Switzerland
Secretary:  Tomohiro HIGASHIHARA
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 January 1991
End of mandate:31 December 2020

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document NEA/RWM/CLAYCLUB(2019)1/FINAL




The Clay Club promotes the exchange of information and shared approaches and methods to develop and document an evolving understanding of clay media as a host rock for a repository.

The Clay Club provides advice to the Integration Group for the Safety Case (IGSC) on major and emerging issues related to the understanding of the multi-scale characterisation, numerical model simulation and barrier performance of argillaceous media.  In particular, the Clay Club addresses recommendations, trends and information gaps concerning issues such as: