NEA Mandates and Structures

Expert Group on Innovative Fuels

Chair(s): Nathalie CHAUVIN, France
Secretary:  Stéphanie CORNET
Member(s):All NEA member countries
Full participant(s): European Commission
Under the NEA Statute
Observer(s)(International Organisation): International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)
By agreement
Date of creation:01 June 2008
End of mandate:05 February 2021

Mandate (Document reference):

Mandate (Document extract):

Extract from document [NEA/SEN/NSC/WPFC(2019)2]

Objectives and scope

Under the guidance of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) and the mandate of the Working Party on Scientific Issues of the Fuel Cycle (WPFC), the objective of the Expert Group on Innovative Fuels (EGIF) is to conduct joint and comparative studies to identify technical issues and support the development of innovative fuels that can be implemented in advanced nuclear fuel cycles.

The scope of the expert group covers the technical issues associated with the development of innovative fuels (oxide, metal, nitride and carbide fuels, and special mechanical forms) targeted for use in advanced fuel cycles and Generation IV systems. The fuel types of interest for EGIF are those foreseen for driver fuels (i.e. uranium or uranium-plutonium fuels) as well as fuels dedicated to minor actinides (MA) transmutation considered for advanced fuel cycles and Generation IV systems.

The following technical issues associated with innovative fuels development are covered by the expert group:


R&D on innovative fuels

Irradiation results and benchmark with fuel performance codes:

Fuel Properties

Relationships with other bodies

The expert group will liaise closely with other NEA bodies, in particular the Expert Group on Reactor Fuel Performance (EGRFP), the Expert Group on Uncertainty Analysis in Modelling (EGUAM) of the Working Party on Scientific Issues on Reactor Systems (WPRS), the Working Party on Multi-scale Modelling of Fuels and Structural Materials for Nuclear Systems (WPMM), the Expert Group on Accident-tolerant Fuels for Light-water Reactors (EGATFL) and the Expert Group on Integral Experiments for Minor Actinides Management (EGIEMAM) in order to ensure the respective work programmes are complementary, to provide advice and support where required and to undertake joint work where appropriate.

In addition, the expert group will work in co-operation with other international organisations, including the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) and the European Commission (EC).


The deliverables of the EGIF will be the following: