EPR Working Group (EPRWG)

The MDEP EPR Working Group (EPRWG) had been in operation even before the MDEP Policy Group formally approved the MDEP in March 2008. The group was focused on the safety design review of the EPR design.

The following national regulatory authorities participated in the EPRWG :

  • Finland
  • France
  • India
  • People's Republic of China
  • United Kingdom

The members exchanged information about their safety reviews in areas such as review and construction status, the digital instrumentation and control for safety systems, the probabilistic safety analyses, the severe accidents evaluation, accidents and transients methodologies and evaluations, internal hazards, human factors, and technical specifications (see the EPRWG programme plan below for more details of the group's work). The working group also discussed issues related to the Fukushima accident lessons learnt.

The EPRWG reported its status to the MDEP Steering Technical Committee (STC) at the latter's thrice annual meetings.

The MDEP EPRWG's main stakeholders included:

  • Framatome (Ex AREVA) and EDF, France
  • NNB GenCo, UK
  • TNPJVC (Taishan Nuclear Power Joint Venture Company), People's Republic of China
  • TVO, Finland


For more information, see the MDEP Annual Report: 2018-2019.

Programme plan

2020-2022 Programme Plan


Technical Reports

Common Positions

Last reviewed: 12 October 2022